Copşa Mare / Großkopisch

On the eastern hill above the village an early Gothic basilica with tower was first erected. Around 1510 the church was fortified, thus the old chancel was demolished and replaced by a high chancel with polygonal closure strengthened by a defence level built in stone. Due to its height of almost 11 meters and its defence systems the chancel protected the ensemble against the slope. A wooden defence level was built on the tower. The chancel still preserves its stellar vault and the fine tracery on the windows originating from the construction time of the church, but the nave was rebuilt in 1795 in Baroque style. On the northern side of the chancel stands the two-leveled sacristy dated 1519. On its second level a chapel was set up. Especially valuable are the Renaissance portal of the sacristy and the Neoclassical altar.

Place and surroundings

The place was most probably established end of the 13th Century. Already at the beginning of the 14th Century the settlers have erected a stone church, whose foundations are still preserved nowadays, despite numerous renovations and enlargements. But the houses in the village were originally built with less durable materials. The wood from the surrounding forests was in the early days the most important building material. Cracks between the logs were clogged with moss and clay, while the roofs were covered with straw resulting after the wheat harvest. The windows were closed with extensive animal bladders, allowing only a faint light to pass, which could barely spread the darkness of the rooms.
Starting with the 18-19th Century it became common to build houses out of bricks. During that time the typical Transylvanian farms were erected and they still guard aligned the paths of the village.

Activities

In 2011, the former Coordination Office for Fortified Churches, in cooperation with the district consistory Mediaș, carried out emergency repairs on the roof of the church, which were mainly financed by donations from the hometown community of Saxons.
Since August 2016 Sabine Haranzha has been committed to the church in the name of the “Kulturerbe Kirchenburgen e.V.” association. In cooperation with the Fortified Churches Foundation and the district consitory Mediaș, she is working on the financing and organisation of repairs to the building.

To find out more, visit the facebook-page of Copșa Mare.

Großkopisch / Copşa Mare

Am Osthang über dem Dorf entstand zunächst eine frühgotische Basilika mit Turm. Um 1510 wurde die Kirche im Zuge der Befestigung umgebaut. Der alte Chor wurde abgerissen und durch einen hohen Chor mit polygonalem Abschluss ersetzt. Dieser wiederum wurde durch ein steinernes Wehrgeschoss verstärkt, sodass die Kirchenburg gegen den Hang verteidigt werden konnte, und der Turm erhielt ein Wehrgeschoss aus Holz. Der Chor stand etwas oberhalb des alten Schiffes, weil dieses gleichfalls vergrößert werden sollte. Als man diesen Plan aufgab, wurde der Zwischenraum nur mit einem schmalen Joch geschlossen. Während der Chor sein ursprüngliches Sterngewölbe und die Maßwerkfenster aus der Bauzeit behielt, wurde das Kirchenschiff 1795 barock überformt. Auf der Nordseite des Chores befindet sich eine auf 1519 datierte zweigeschossige Sakristei, in deren Obergeschoss eine Kapelle eingerichtet war. Von der Ausstattung der Kirche sind vor allem das Renaissance-Portal zur Sakristei und der klassizistische Altar erwähnenswert.

Ort

Der Ort Großkopisch wurde vermutlich in der zweiten Hälfte des 13. Jh. gegründet. Seit Beginn des 14. Jh. wurde von den Siedlern eine Kirche aus Stein errichtet, deren Grundmauern trotz zahlreicher Um- und Ausbauten bis heute erhalten geblieben sind. Ursprünglich aus deutlich weniger langlebigen Materialien bestanden die Wohnhäuser des Ortes: Das Holz der umliegenden Wälder war in der Gründungszeit der wichtigste Baustoff. Ritzen zwischen den Balken wurden mit Moos und Lehm verstopft, die Dächer deckte man nach der Weizenernte mit Stroh. Mit den sogenannten Schlemmen – ausgedehnten Tierblasen – wurden die Fenster bespannt, durch die nur ein schwacher Lichtschein in die dahinter liegenden Räume dringen konnte.Erst im 18. und 19. Jh. wurde es üblich, Wohnhäuser aus Mauerziegeln zu errichten. In dieser Zeit entstanden die typisch siebenbürgisch-sächsischen Gehöfte, die noch heute die Wege des Dorfes säumen.

Aktivitäten

Als „Projektpatin“ engagiert sich Sabine Haranzha seit August 2016 für die Renovierungsarbeiten an der Kirchenburg Großkopisch. . In enger Zusammenarbeit mit der Evangelischen Kirche, der Stiftung Kirchenburgen sowie dem Verein Kulturerbe Kirchenburgen e.V. bemüht sie sich um die Finanzierung und das Organisieren der dringend nötigen Reparaturen an der Kirche.

Erfahren Sie mehr auf der facebook-Seite von Großkopisch.