Sighişoara / Schäßburg

The three-aisled Romanesque basilica called The Hill Church (Biserica din Deal) evolved from the chapel of an early Szekler- or Noble castle. It had a bell tower at the western side, which was later incorporated into the new hall church during alterations in the 14th century. Soon after the reformation the church was not used as a parish church anymore but as a chapel for the Saxon school. Wooden vaults replaced the Gothic vaults of the chancel end of the 19th century. On the interior walls medieval paintings were preserved and they were uncovered during the restoration works financed by the Messerschmitt Foundation in 1995. Remains of the original inventory are valuable Renaissance tombstones, the beautiful tabernacle and a carved Gothic pew. Today the church has been converted to a museum, where a variety of important altars from abandoned or endangered churches and a collection of storage chests dating to the 17th and 18th Century are on display.

The former Monastery’s Church (Biserica Mănăstirii) of the Dominican order was used as parish church after the reformation as of 1555. The other buildings of the monastery were then converted to accommodate the town hall. Later in the 19th century they were dismantled by the Hungarian administration. The Gothic hall church derived from an earlier Romanesque basilica first mentioned in 1298. The four-bayed nave is followed by the long narrow chancel, which still preserves its original Gothic vault. Today the interior appears cramped because of the galleries that were built into the aisles. The original inventory is reduced to the baptismal font of bronze dating to 1440 and the splendid baroque altar of 1680. Hanging on walls and galleries there is a collection of precious carpets originating from Anatolia in eastern Turkey dating back to the 17th and 18th century.

Place and surroundings

Sighisoara – the “Jewel of Transylvania” – is a medieval castle town still entirely inhabited and unique in Europe. The historic center was therefore appointed in 1999 as a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Originally, the mighty fortress had 14 towers and five bastions. Nine of these towers have been preserved until today. They bear the names of the guilds that built them.
Every year in July, here is organized the Medieval Festival. The historic houses of the inner city, as the “Venetian House” or the “House with deer” and the eight churches create a special atmosphere. One of them, the monastery’s church was first documented in 1298 and belonged once to the Dominican Order. A cloister it was connecting the church with its monastery. After 1550 the monastery became the seat of the town hall. It is said that the faces of the disciples in the scene of the Last Supper on the alter features similarities with the faces of the former City Council members and the pastor, which underscores the important role of the church for the religious and social life of the community.

Schäßburg / Sighişoara

Die Bergkirche entstand als romanische dreischiffige Basilika aus der Kapelle einer frühen Szekler- oder Gräfenburg des 12. Jh. Sie erhielt einen westlichen Glockenturm, der bei dem gotischen Umbau ab dem 14. Jh. in die neue Hallenkirche integriert wurde. Schon seit der Reformation wurde die Kirche nicht mehr für Gemeindegottesdienste, sondern als Kirche für das deutsche Gymnasium genutzt. Das gotische Gewölbe des Chores wurde Ende des 19. Jh. durch ein hölzernes ersetzt. Im Innenraum haben sich mittelalterliche Fresken erhalten, die im Zuge der von der Messerschmitt-Stiftung finanzierten Restaurierung 1995 freigelegt wurden. In der heute als Museum genutzten Kirche finden sich aus dem ursprünglichen Bestand wertvolle Renaissance-Grabsteine, das Sakramentshäuschen und ein spätgotisches Chorgestühl. Dazu werden hier bedeutende Altäre aus aufgegebenen oder gefährdeten Dorfkirchen sowie eine Sammlung von Vorratstruhen aus dem 16. bis 18. Jh. präsentiert.

Die ehemalige Dominikaner-Klosterkirche wurde nach 1555 zur Pfarrkirche der Stadtgemeinde. In die dazugehörenden Konventsgebäude wurde gleichzeitig der Rat der Stadt verlegt. Diese Gebäude wurden im 19. Jh. durch die ungarische Verwaltung abgetragen. Die turmlose gotische Hallenkirche entstand aus einer erstmals 1298 erwähnten romanischen Basilika. An das vierjochige Langhaus schließt sich der schmalere lang gezogene Chor mit seinem originalen gotischen Gewölbe an. Durch die in den Seitenschiffen eingebauten Emporen wirkt der Innenraum heute beengt. Von der Innenausstattung sind das bronzene Taufbecken von 1440 und der 1680 entstandene prächtige Barockaltar besonders bemerkenswert. An den Wänden und Emporen ist ferner eine Sammlung von kostbaren anatolischen Teppichen des 17. und 18. Jh. zu sehen.

Ort

Schäßburg – das „Juwel Siebenbürgens“ – ist als mittelalterliche, noch vollständig bewohnte Burgstadt einmalig in Europa. Das historische Zentrum wurde daher 1999 zum UNESCO-Weltkulturerbe ernannt. Ursprünglich verfügte die gewaltige Festung über 14 Türme und fünf Basteien. Heute sind noch neun dieser Wehrtürme erhalten. Sie tragen die Namen der Zünfte, von denen sie einst erbaut wurden.

Jedes Jahr im Juli findet vor dieser Kulisse das Mittelalterfestival statt.

Ein besonderes Flair bieten die historischen Häuser der Innenstadt wie das „Venezianische Haus“ oder das „Haus mit dem Hirschgeweih“ sowie die acht Kirchen. Eine von ihnen, die 1298 erstmals erwähnte Klosterkirche, gehörte einst dem Dominikanerorden. Sie war mit dem Kloster durch einen Kreuzgang verbunden. Nach 1550 wurde das Kloster zum Sitz des Rathauses. Es heißt, dass in der Klosterkirche auf dem Abendmahlsbild des Altars die Jünger die Gesichtszüge der damaligen Ratsmitglieder und des Stadtpfarrers tragen, was die wichtige Rolle der Kirche für das religiöse und gesellschaftliche Leben der Gemeinde unterstreicht.