Satisfied review and hopeful outlook

A new year has begun, also for the Fortified Churches Foundation. New perspectives and an optimistic zest for action join the old challenges, which the team will meet with its usual passion. Unfortunately, the development of the Corona pandemic remains a factor of uncertainty.

The Christmas market in Hosman traditionally marks the end of the old year for the Fortified Churches FoundatioWeihnachtsmarkt Holzmengen 2021n. Never before have so many guests come to the event as in 2021. Together with the sponsors and partners, organizer Ruth István takes stock with satisfaction: “After the Corona break in 2020, we decided this time to hold the market under the 3-G rules, so that everyone has the opportunity to participate. The enormous popularity among the visitors is the most beautiful reward.”

The review is also positive for the Foundation’s construction team: Repair work in Laslea, Zlagna and Șmig as part of the roof program was successfully completed. Emergency interventions in Bruiu, Măgheruș and Toarcla were equally positive. New ways of preservation of monuments were taken with the volunteers of the association “European Heritage Volunteers” in Hosman and Movile. Based on this good experience, an annual cooperation with this partner organization will be sought in the future.

Projects in all Church Districts

Activities in communities in all five church districts are on the agenda for 2022: In Bruiu, the historic fruit house in the southeast of the church castle will undergo a complete roof repair starting in the spring. The storehouse building had already been inspected in preparation for these interventions in November 2019. Roof renovation is also on the agenda at the Ormeniș church building. There, an additional water drainage system is to prevent future damage to the building fabric. In Șoarș, the renovated supporting pillars are being covered. Concrete planning has already begun for the roof work in Metiș. Further measures in the roof program of the Fortified Churches Foundation are also planned in 2022 in Boz and in Vingard.

The work on the Valea Lungă fortified church promises to be particularly interesting: In order to better protect the valuable coffered ceiling in the future, an attic will be built into the roof truss, which will provide additional protection against any water penetration. “In addition,” says Sebastian Bethge, representative for monument preservation at the Foundation, “this construction will be used for regular maintenance of the roof in the future. For example, it will be much easier to replace damaged or fallen tiles after a strong storm.”

Langenthal / Valea Lunga

Vacation in a fortified church

The foundation would like to open up a new terrain in the area of adaptive reuse. In Brădeni, Movile and Curciu, the necessary steps will be taken in 2022 to finalize an accommodation project of a special kind: Already since 2019, the Fortified Churches Foundation has been preparing to create exclusive accommodation spaces for visitors in annex buildings of the ring walls in the three communities mentioned.

In order to make the stay in the fortified churches exciting also for the youngest guests, this year the quiz booklets in Romanian language will be launched. The presentation of these informative and entertaining booklets for selected churches, which experience has shown to be frequented by a particularly large number of visitors, will take place in the fortified church of Cristian (SB).

How much the number of travelers and specialized tourists will increase this year depends, of course, primarily on the further course of the Corona pandemic. In any case, the fortified church landscape will once again show itself from its most hospitable side in 2022.

Text und Photos: Stefan Bichler

Zufriedene Bilanz und hoffnungsvoller Ausblick

Ein neues Jahr hat begonnen, auch für die Stiftung Kirchenburgen. Zu den alten Herausforderungen, denen das Team mit der gewohnten Leidenschaft begegnen wird, stoßen aber auch neue Perspektiven und optimistischer Tatendrang. Ein großer Unsicherheitsfaktor bleibt aber leider weiterhin die Entwicklung der Corona-Pandemie.

Den Abschluss des alten Jahres bildet für die Stiftung Kirchenburgen traditioneller Weise der Weihnachtsmarkt in Holzmengen. Noch nie kamen so vielen Gäste zu der Veranstaltung wie 2021. Gemeinsam mit den Sponsoren und Partnern zieht Organisatorin Ruth István zufrieden Bilanz: “Nach der Coronapause im Jahr 2020 haben wir uns diesmal dafür entschieden, den MWeihnachtsmarkt Holzmengen 2021arkt unter Berücksichtigung der 3-G-Regeln durchzuführen, damit jeder die Möglichkeit hat, teilzunehmen. Der enorme Zuspruch unter den Besuchern ist die schönste Belohnung.”

Auch für das Bau-Team der Stiftung fällt der Rückblick positiv aus: Reparaturarbeiten in Großlasseln, Schlatt und Schmiegen im Rahmen des Dächerprogrammes wurden erfolgreich abgeschlossen. Ebenso positiv verliefen die Notintervenionen in Braller, Maniersch und Tarteln. Neue Wege der Denkmalpflege wurden mit den Freiwilligen des Vereines “European Heritage Volunteers” in Holzmengen und Hundertbücheln beschritten. Auf der Basis dieser guten Erfahrung wird künftig eine alljährliche Zusammenarbeit mit dieser Partnerorganisation angestrebt.

Projekte in allen Bezirken

Für das Jahr 2022 stehen Aktivitäten in Gemeinden aller fünf Kirchenbezirke auf der Agenda: In Braller wird das historische Fruchthaus im Südosten der Kirchenburg ab dem Frühjahr einer kompletten Dachinstandsetzung unterzogen. Bereits im November 2019 war das Speichergebäude im Hinblick auf diese Eingriffe vorbereitend inspiziert worden. Eine Dachsanierung steht auch am Kirchengebäude von Irmesch auf dem Programm. Dort soll zusätzlich ein System zur Wasserableitung künftigen Schäden an der Bausubstanz vorbeugen. In Scharosch bei Fogarasch werden die sanierten Stützpfeiler abgedeckt. Für die Dacharbeiten in Martinsdorf haben die konkreten Planungen bereits begonnen. Weitere Maßnahmen im Dächerprogramm der Stiftung Kirchenburgen sind 2022 auch in Bußd bei Mühlbach und in Weingartskirchen geplant.

Besonders interessant versprechen die Arbeiten an der Kirchenburg von Langenthal zu werden: Um die wertvolle Kassettendecke künftig besser zu schützen, wird ein Dachboden in den Dachstuhl eingebaut, der zusätzlichen Schutz vor allfällig eindringendem Wasser bieten wird. “Außerdem”, so Denkmalschutzbeauftragter Sebastian Bethge, “wird diese Konstruktion künftig zur regelmäßigen Wartung des Daches benutzt. So ist es zum Beispiel deutlich einfacher, nach einem starken Sturm beschädigte oder abgefallene Ziegel zu ersetzen.”

Langenthal / Valea Lunga

Urlaub in der Kirchenburg

Ein neues Terrain möchte die Stiftung im Bereich Nutzungserweiterung erschließen. In Henndorf, Hundertbücheln und Kirtsch werden 2022 die nötigen Schritte zur Finalisierung eines Beherbergungsprojektes der besonderen Art erfolgen: Schon seit 2019 bereitet sich die Stiftung Kirchenburgen darauf vor, in Nebengebäuden der Kirchen in den drei erwähnten Gemeinden exklusive Unterkunftsplätze für Besucher zu schaffen.

Um den Aufenthalt in den Kirchenburgen auch für die jüngsten Gäste spannend zu gestalten, werden es in diesem Jahr Quizheftchen in rumänischer Sprache herausgeben. Die Präsentation dieser informativen und unterhaltsamen Broschüren für ausgewählte Kirchen, die erfahrungsgemäß von besonders vielen Besuchern frequentiert werden, soll in der Kirchenburg von Großau stattfinden.

Wie stark die Zahl der Reisenden und Fachtouristen in diesem Jahr steigen wird, hängt natürlich in erster Linie vom weiteren Verlauf der Corona-Pandemie ab. Jedenfalls wird die Kirchenburgenlandschaft sich auch 2022 wieder von ihrer gastfreundlichsten Seite zeigen.

Text und Fotos: Stefan Bichler