busd

Boz / Bußd (bei Mühlbach)

In the middle of the center square in the small village of Boz near Sebeș stands the late Gothic hall church surrounded by a low ring wall. According to the inscription the erection dates back to 1523. The hall and choir of the church merge together in the same width. The vault of the hall has a decorative ribbed ceiling made of clay bricks. The facades are separated by buttresses. These and further consoles arranged in between are the support for the two defence floors. The crenels were accessible through the consoles of the lower defence level while the embrasures served as defensive systems in the second defence level. Both stories can be accessed through a spiral stairway on the north-eastern side of the church. Similar fortified churches can be found in Cloașterf and Dupuș. The church of Cloașterf was built by the famous architect Stephan Ungar and he is most probably also responsible for the other two churches.

A gateway tower with a wall-walk is on the northern side of the fortification. Besides the altar dating back to early Baroque the remaining décor in the interior is mostly from the 19th century.

Activities

In the mid-1990s, Daniel Schuster, a Saxon citizen of Transylvania from Boz, began to save the towerless fortified church of his home village from decay. He founded a foundation and collected donations. In 1998, major repair work was thus carried out on the roofs and the circular wall.

Almost 20 years have now passed. Thanks to the voluntary and continuous commitment of Mr. Schuster, the ensemble has survived to this day. Nevertheless, the ravages of time gnaw at the substance and further monument preservation work has to be carried out.

The Fortified Churches Foundation  is very impressed by the untiring commitment of Mr. Schuster and would like to support his work at the fortification in Boz with the roof and monument preservation programme. A brief report on the condition of the plant and preparations for initial safety measures are in progress.

Our partners

Daniel Schuster, foundation_agenda2023@yahoo.de

District Consistory Sebeș

busd

Bußd (bei Mühlbach) / Boz

In dem kleinen Örtchen Bussd bei Mühlbach findet sich eine spätgotische Saalkirche, die umgeben von einer niedrigen Mauer auf dem Dorfanger steht. In der laut Inschrift 1523 errichteten Kirche gehen Saal und Chor in gleicher Breite ineinander über. Das Stichkappengewölbe des Saales ist dekorativ mit Rippen aus Tonziegeln gegliedert. Die Fassaden sind durch Strebepfeiler unterteilt, auf denen sowie auf dazwischen angeordneten Konsolen zwei Wehrgeschosse ruhen. Über das untere Geschoss waren die Gußscharten zwischen den Konsolen zugänglich, während im darüber liegenden zweiten Geschoss Schießscharten der Verteidigung dienten. Die beiden Geschosse sind über eine auf der Nordostseite angeordnete Wendeltreppe zu erreichen. Ähnliche Kirchbauten sind in Klosdorf und Tobsdorf zu sehen. Für die Klosdorfer Kirche ist der Baumeister Stephan Ungar bekannt und man kann ihn auch als Urheber der beiden anderen Kirchen vermuten.

Auf der Nordseite findet sich noch ein Torturm mit Wehrgang. Im Inneren findet sich neben einem  frühbarocken Altar die Ausstattung des 19.Jh.

Aktivitäten

Mitte der 1990iger Jahren hat Daniel Schuster, Siebenbürger Sachse aus Bußd bei Mühlbach, begonnen die turmlose Wehrkirche seines Heimatdorfes vor dem Verfall zu retten. Er gründete eine Stiftung und sammelte Spenden. 1998 konnten somit größerer Reparaturarbeiten an den Dächern und der Ringmauer durchgeführt werden.

Mittlerweile sind fast 20 Jahre vergangen. Durch das ehrenamtliche und kontinuierliche Engagement von Herr Schuster hat sich das Kirchenburgenensemble bis heute erhalten. Der Zahn der Zeit nagt trotzdem an der Substanz und es müssen weitere Denkmalpflegearbeiten durchgeführt werden.

Die Stiftung Kirchenburgen ist sehr von dem unermüdlichen Engagement von Herrn Schuster beeindruckt und möchte seine Arbeit an der Wehrkirche in Bußd mittels dem Dächer- und Denkmalpflegeprogramm unterstützen. Ein Kurzgutachten zum Zustand der Anlage und die Vorbereitungen für erste Sicherungsmaßnahmen sind in Arbeit.

Unsere Partner   

Daniel Schuster, stiftung_agenda2023@yahoo.de

Bezirkskonsistorium Mühlbach