Volunteer professionals preserve Transylvanian cultural heritage

In Movile and Hosman this August and September, young professionals from different fields restored outbuildings of the fortified churches. The work stays were coordinated through the organization European Heritage Volunteers.

Foto: Maria Teresa Tenaglia

Young experts from the fields of architecture, art history, monument preservation, restoration and craftsmanship from all over the world participated in a work assignment at the fortified church of Hosman from September 12 to 25, 2021. As part of this action, the farm building located between the rectory and the fortified church (called the “laundry”), which is located directly on the fortification wall, was renovated from the ground up. The work on the masonry and the roof was led by the expert trainer team Christian Rummel and Sebastian Bethge (wood) and Pia Prade (stone).

After a biological survey of the selected building by the expert Ileana Chirtea, it was decided which original components had to be replaced and to what extent it was possible to continue using the historic building material. Architect Tudor Pavelescu took care of obtaining the necessary permits from the monument authority. The participants from Australia, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Canada, Lithuania, Malta, Mexico and Austria had to pay for their own travel. The CEPIT association from Hosman financed the material costs. Thanks to the support of the Department for Interethnic Relations at the General Secretariat of the Romanian Government, the Democratic Forum of Germans in Transylvania was able to pay for the local transportation as well as the stay. The Fortified Churches Foundation took care of logistics, organization and placement of the team of expert trainers.

Foto: churchfortress e.V. - Friends of Hundertbücheln/Movile

Hard-working team of European Heritage Volunteers also in Movile

In Movile, the association Churchfortress e.V. – Friends of Movile also organized a work assignment. Twelve volunteers repaired parts of the ring wall and a staircase there under the guidance of two expert trainers Ștefan Vaida and Ionuț Dobra. The Fortified Churches Foundation has taken care of the permits.

The European Heritage Volunteers organization has been involved in heritage volunteering for over twenty years. Its aim is to build links between the heritage and volunteering sectors by continuously working to promote a deeper understanding of heritage and volunteering among those working in both fields, and by linking the two through practical projects and educational activities. Volunteers come not only from Europe, but from all over the world. The headquarters of the association is in Germany, in Weimar.

Ruth István, expert tourism officer of the Fortified Churches Foundation is enthusiastic about the two work assignments: “It was our first cooperation with European Heritage Volunteers, although we have been closely following the activities of this association in other places for quite some time. The decision to invite these young professionals to Hosman and Movile turned out to be absolutely right. I am already looking forward to further joint projects!”

 

Photos: Maria Teresa Tenaglia, Peter Cersowsky, churchfortress e.V., Stefan Bichler

Freiwillige Fachleute erhalten siebenbürgisches Kulturerbe

In Hundertbücheln und Holzmengen haben im August und September diesen Jahres junge Fachleute aus unterschiedlichen Bereichen Nebengebäude der Kirchenburgen wieder instand gesetzt. Die Arbeitsaufenthalte wurden über die Organisation European Heritage Volunteers koordiniert.

Foto: Maria Teresa Tenaglia

Junge Expertinnen und Experten aus den Bereichen Architektur, Kunstgeschichte, Restaurierung und Handwerk aus der ganzen Welt haben von 12. bis 25. September 2021 an der Kirchenburg von Holzmengen an einem Arbeitseinsatz teilgenommen. Im Rahmen dieser Aktion wurde das zwischen Pfarrhaus und Kirchenburg gelegene Wirtschaftsgebäude (genannt “Waschküche”), welches sich direkt an der Wehrmauer befindet, von Grund auf saniert. Die Arbeiten am Mauerwerk und am Dach wurden vom Fachtrainerteam Christian Rummel und Sebastian Bethge (Holz) und Pia Prade (Stein) geleitet.

Nach einer biologischen Bestandsaufnahme des ausgewählten Gebäudes durch die Expertin Ileana Chirtea wurde entschieden, welche Originalbestandteile ersetzt werden müssen und inwiefern man das historische Baumaterial weiter verwenden kann. Architekt Tudor Pavelescu kümmerte sich um die Einholung der erforderlichen Genehmigungen bei der Denkmalbehörde. Die Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer aus Australien, Griechenland, Irland, Italien, Kanada, Litauen, Malta, Mexiko und Österreich mussten selbst für die Anreise aufkommen. Der CEPIT-Verein aus Holzmengen hat die Materialkosten finanziert. Dank der Unterstützung durch das Département für interethnische Beziehungen beim Generalsekretariat der Rumänischen Regierung konnte das Demokratische Forum der Deutschen in Siebenbürgen für den Transport vor Ort sowie den Aufenthalt aufkommen. Die Stiftung Kirchenburgen kümmerte sich um Logistik, Organisation und Vermittlung des Fachtrainerteams.

Foto: churchfortress e.V. - Friends of Hundertbücheln/Movile

Fleißiges Team der European Heritage Volunteers auch in Hundertbücheln

In Hundertbücheln hat der Verein Churchfortress e.V. – Friends of Hundertbücheln/Movile einen ähnlichen Arbeitseinsatz organisiert. Zwölf Freiwillige haben dort unter der Leitung der beiden Fachtrainer Ștefan Vaida und Ionuț Dobra Teile der Ringmauer sowie eine Treppe wieder instandgesetzt. Die Stiftung Kirchenburgen hat sich um die Genehmigungen durch das Denkmalamt gekümmert.

Die Organisation European Heritage Volunteers ist seit über zwanzig Jahren in der Freiwilligenarbeit im Bereich Kulturerbe tätig. Ihr Ziel ist es, Verbindungen zwischen den Bereichen Kulturerbe und Freiwilligenarbeit herzustellen, indem sie kontinuierlich daran arbeitet, ein tieferes Verständnis von Kulturerbe und Freiwilligenarbeit bei denjenigen zu fördern, die in beiden Bereichen tätig sind, und indem sie die beiden Bereiche durch praktische Projekte und Bildungsaktivitäten miteinander verbindet. Die Freiwilligen kommen nicht nur aus Europa, sondern aus der ganzen Welt. Der Sitz des Vereines befindet sich in Deutschland, in Weimar.

Ruth István, Fachtourismusreferentin der Stiftung Kirchenburgen ist von den beiden Arbeitseinsätzen begeistert: “Es war unsere erste Zusammenarbeit mit European Heritage Volunteers, obwohl wir die Tätigkeiten dieses Vereines auch an anderen Orten schon seit längerem aufmerksam verfolgen. Die Entscheidung, diese jungen Fachleute nach Holzmengen und Hundertbücheln einzuladen hat sich als goldrichtig herausgestellt. Ich freue mich schon auf weitere gemeinsame Projekte!”

 

Fotos: Maria Teresa Tenaglia, Peter Cersowsky, churchfortress e.V., Stefan Bichler