Kick-off of construction works in Curciu

For years, the Fortified Churches Foundation has been working intensively on concepts for expanding the use of historic churches and fortresses in order to open them up for the future. This year, the foundation’s first “own” project is to be implemented: a project to use the fortified church of Curciu for cultural tourism purposes.

Kirtsch / Curciu

In the small village of Curciu in the Medias church district, intensive work is currently being done on the restoration of the gate tower, the chapel and the bell tower house. The official opening of the construction site took place shortly before Christmas, but work was of course suspended over the holidays. Since the beginning of January, however, the works have continued on the interior of the buildings.  Among other things, modern sanitary facilities are to be installed to transform the fortified church ensemble into an inviting address for cultural tourists.

Philipp Harfmann, Managing Director of the Fortified Churches Foundation, explains the role the Foundation plays in this context: “In addition to a steadily growing number of cooperations with partners at various locations in Transylvania who also have aspirations in this field, we are interested in developing our own adaptive reuse project. In this way, we can present another example of the numerous possibilities that fortified churches offer as venues.”

picture-4

The Curciu-project is able to be implemented within the framework of special funding from the German Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and the Media (BKM). Thanks to this support and under the expertly documented and supervised implementation of the program, the foundation can now realize the long-planned project. The reinterpretation of religious sites in Transylvania, where such concepts, which have been commonplace in other parts of the world for some time, have been almost non-existent, is a topic to which the Fortified Churches Foundation has devoted itself continuously in the years since its establishment through further training and network development. The practical implementation of the project will now occupy the team during the new year 2023.

A great opportunity for rural locations

Because Transylvanian fortified churches are mainly located in rural areas, where conventional models of adaptive reBurghüterin Dana Crişan aus Kirtsch/Curciuuse (for example, as concert halls, libraries or the like) rarely seem to make sense, an increased tourism-related use of the fortified churches, which – like Curciu, for example – have been discovered by an increasing number of history- and culture-loving travelers in recent years, presents itself as an opportunity. “We were able to collaborate with Dana Crișan, a teacher from Curciu, as an operational partner on site, who, as a castle keeper, has been caring for the monument as well as its visitors for many years. Dana has a passion and a great understanding of the Protestant, Transylvanian-Saxon culture and loves sharing her knowledge and personal experiences with the guests coming to the fortified church of Curciu,” Ruth István, tourism officer in the foundation team, is pleased to say: “We are convinced that this project can be a success for all involved and will set new standards in dealing with sacred monuments and adaptive reuse endeavors in the future. ”

Text: Stefan Bichler

Startschuss in Kirtsch

Seit Jahren befasst sich die Stiftung Kirchenburgen intensiv mit Konzepten der Nutzungserweiterung, um die historischen Kirchen und Festungen für die Zukunft zu öffnen. In diesem Jahr soll nun das erste “eigene” Projekt der Stiftung baulich umgesetzt werden: ein Nutzungsprojekt der Kirchenburg von Kirtsch für kulturtouristische Zwecke.

Kirtsch / Curciu

In der kleinen Ortschaft Kirtsch im Mediascher Kirchenbezirk wird derzeit intensiv an der Restaurierung des Torturmes, der Kapelle sowie des Glockenturmhauses gearbeitet. Die offizielle Baustelleneröffnung fand bereits kurz vor Weihnachten statt, jedoch wurde die Arbeit über die Feiertage zunächst eingestellt. Seit Anfang Januar geht es jedoch mit Arbeiten in den Innenbereichen der Gebäude weiter.  Unter anderem sollen moderne sanitäre Anlagen installiert werden, um das Kirchenburgenensemble künftig zu einer einladenden Adresse für Kulturtouristen mit Ansprüchen umzugestalten.

Philipp Harfmann, Geschäftsführer der Stiftung Kirchenburgen, erklärt welche Rolle die Stiftung in diesem Zusammenhang spielt: “Neben einer stetig wachsenden Anzahl von Kooperationen mit Umnutzungspartnern an verschiedenen Orten in Siebenbürgen sind wir daran interessiert, auch ein eigenes Nutzungserweiterungsprojekt zu entwickeln. Auf diese Weise können wir ein weiteres Beispiel für die zahlreichen Möglichkeiten präsentieren, welche die Kirchenburgen in dieser Hinsicht bieten.”

picture-4Das Kirtscher Projekt kann im Rahmen einer Sonderförderung der Beauftragten der deutschen Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien (BKM) umgesetzt werden. Dank dieser Unterstützung und unter der fachkompetent dokumentierten und überwachten Umsetzung des Programms kann die Stiftung nun das lang geplante Projekt realisieren. Die Neuinterpretation religiöser Stätten in Siebenbürgen, wo es solche Konzepte, die in anderen Gegenden der Welt bereits seit längerem gang und gäbe sind, bisher kaum gibt, ist ein Thema, dem sich die Stiftung Kirchenburgen in den Jahren seit ihrer Gründung durch Fortbildungen und Netzwerkentwicklung fortlaufend widmet. Die praktische Umsetzung des Projektes wird das Team nun im Laufe des neuen Jahres 2023 beschäftigen.

Chance für ländliche Standorte

Weil sich die siebenbürgischen Kirchenburgen hauptsächlich in ruralen Gebieten befinden, wo herkömmliche ModelBurghüterin Dana Crişan aus Kirtsch/Curciule der adaptiven Umnutzung (etwa als Konzertsaal, Bibliothek oder ähnliches) nur selten sinnvoll erscheinen, bietet sich eine verstärkte touristische Nutzung der Kirchenburgen an, die – wie zum Beispiel Kirtsch – seit den letzten Jahren von immer mehr geschichts- und kulturbegeisterten Reisenden entdeckt werden. “Als operative Partnerin vor Ort konnten wir die Kirtscher Lehrerin Dana Crișan  gewinnen, die sich als Burghüterin seit vielen Jahren mit Leidenschaft und mit einem großen Verständnis der evangelischen, siebenbürgisch-sächsischen Kultur gleichermaßen um das Baudenkmal wie seine Besucher kümmert,” freut sich Ruth István, Tourismusreferentin im Stiftungsteam: “Wir sind überzeugt, dass das Projekt in Kirtsch ein Erfolg für alle Beteiligten werden kann und neue Maßstäbe im Umgang mit sakralen Denkmälern und derer erweiterten Nutzung und Zukunft setzten wird.“

Text: Stefan Bichler